When the clock struck midnight on January 1, over 30 new laws went into effect in the State of Connecticut. Below are some highlights:
- Regulation of Uber and Lyft. This new legislation requires both companies to register with the state Department of Transportation to screen drivers and set insurance limits for drivers. Taxi companies can now use apps to calculate fares.
- Changes to stage 4 metastatic cancer. Insurance companies can no longer require patients to do step therapy for their metastatic cancer.
- Ticket sales on the secondary market. This prohibits the sale of some non-transferable tickets for entertainment events.
- Minimum liability coverage for auto insurance. This new law will require drivers to increase their coverage to $25,000 minimum liability coverage per person in a New Haven auto accident, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 for property damage. Previous amounts were $20,000, $50,000, and $10,000, respectively.
- DMV changes. The Connecticut DMV will offer a Hartford Whalers license plate to motorists. Learner’s permits will also now expire 2 years after issuance (instead of at age 18 it was previously) or on the day the permit holder receives their driver’s license.
Here is a complete list of new laws that went into effect on January 1, 2018.