The Connecticut State General Assembly just passed a new transportation bill that was signed by Governor Lamont that included in it a new seat belt law. The seat belt law that was part of this bill will go into affect on October 1st, 2021 and will require that all persons, regardless of age, traveling in the backseat of a car wear a seat belt. Previously in the state of Connecticut it was only people 16 years and younger who were required to wear a seat belt in the backseat, but on October 1st, it will be all people traveling in the back seat. This makes Connecticut the 32nd state to enact such legislation.
In a year that follows the largest increase in fatalities due to New Haven auto accidents in many decades, it is no wonder that the state took action to help protect all passengers in a car and require seat belts for adults in the back seat. Before the law goes into affect, here are some things you should know about it;
- You cannot be pulled over JUST for violating this new law.
- If you are pulled over for a speeding violation or other violations an officer can also cite you for not wearing your seat belt in the back seat.
- Unbuckled passengers in the back seat can turn into projectiles in the event of a serious accident which can cause injury or fatality.
Almost 30-years ago Connecticut was one of the first states in the country to enact front-seat seat belt laws, but it is in the middle of the pack to get this law passed which was done in partnership with AAA and nearly 100 other safety advocate groups that were encouraging the state to enact this type of law.
If you are injured in a New Haven auto accident and are a passenger in the back seat you may need an attorney to review your case. Contact our office and one of our experienced attorneys will work with you to help protect your long-term interests.