Connecticut Has Some Of The Strictest DUI Laws

August 14, 2017
Published by

A new survey released reveals that Connecticut has some of the strictest drunk driving laws in the country. Arizona has the strictest laws while South Dakota has the most lenient.

According to a report from the Office of Legislative Research, drunk driving law is broken into two statutes. The first statute prohibits driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs based on the driver’s age and the type of vehicle being driven. Drivers under age 21 are considered to have an elevated blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% or higher, while those over the age of 21 are considered elevated 0.08% or higher. Those who operate a commercial vehicle are considered to be operating under the influence if their BAC is 0.04% or higher.

The second statute that comprises Connecticut DUI law is implied consent. As a licensed Connecticut driver, it is implied that if a police officer suspects you to be operating under the influence, that you will submit to a sobriety test. You also have the right to refuse the test under this statute, but that does not go without an administrative driver’s license suspension.

If it is your first offense, you could face a $500-$1,000 fine; 45 day license suspension and one year with an ignition interlock device installed at your expense; and either up to six months in jail or two days in jail with 100 hours of community service.

If you were arrested under DUI charges, a New Haven DUI attorney can help you with your case. Contact our office for a free consultation.