New Haven Auto Accidents & 100 Deadliest Days

June 12, 2020
Published by

It is the second week of June and we are just three weeks into the 100 deadliest days (the time between Memorial Day and Labor Day where teens are more often in fatal accidents). A study conducted by Boston University School of Medicine suggests that limiting teenage driving, or any driving for that matter, on Friday or Saturday nights can decrease the risk of a New Haven auto accident where drunk driving was a factor. 

Motor vehicle accidents are the leading cause of death of children and teenagers. The study found that the states that had the lowest child/teen fatalities were those that had the strictest mix of teen driving and drunk driving laws.

Connecticut teens are restricted from having passengers in their vehicle for the first six months except parents and licensed adults over 21. The second six months, teen drivers can operate a vehicle with their siblings. Until their 18th birthday, young drivers may not operate a motor vehicle between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.

Connecticut law prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle at 0.08 blood alcohol content. If you are under the age of 21 years, 0.02 BAC would be considered legally intoxicated.

If you or a loved one was injured on the road, a New Haven auto accident attorney will begin an immediate investigation into your case. We have been protecting the interests and rights of those in New Haven and along the Connecticut shoreline for nearly 60 years. Contact our firm to schedule your free consultation.